ALGA’s Annual Industry Excellence Awards

Congratulations to all our winners for 2017 - see below for details!

Entries for 2018 close 15th August 2018 and should to be submitted to

The Awards will be presented at the ALGA Annual Industry Excellence Awards Gala Dinner.




The submission must:

• Be received by ALGA before 15th August 2018 (email submission to or mail: ALGA - Studio 40 Hoddle St Robertson NSW 2577 Australia)
• Be based on a remediation project
• Apply to a project substantially completed during 2017 or 2018
• Apply to a project within Australia or New Zealand
• Demonstrates best performance against the judging criteria

The evaluation committee is independent of the current Board of Directors, and is comprised of experienced professionals from across the various segments of the industry, who are active ALGA members.


Awards and Judging Criteria


Identify your Project (with evidence of substantial completion) and briefly explain why the work merits recognition (special challenges & innovations).

In less than 2 pages, submissions should address the relevant judging criteria as noted below:

Judging criteria for Awards 1-4

Award 1: Best Remedial Project (<$1M)

Award 2: Best Remedial Project (>$1M)

Award 3: Best Remedial Project (Regional)

Award 4: Best Scoping/Operation of a Site Investigation

a) evidence of significant environmental, economic & social obstacles & benefits
b) evidence of practical application of regulatory requirements (Incl WHS)
c) evidence of productive engagement with all project stakeholders.
d) evidence of effective communication of new knowledge to the industry

Award 5: Sustainable Remediation Project Recognition

Primary criteria:

a. A remediation project largely finalised within the last 2 calendar years including the entry submission year (or policy, if evidence of it having influenced projects is provided) in Australia or New Zealand;
b. Significant attention to environmental, economic and social components
c. Entry includes a description of a conceptual relationship to SuRF ANZ or international SR framework(s) or to the draft emerging ISO on Sustainable Remediation; and
d. Evidence of significant sustainability outcomes.

Additional criteria:

a. Evidence of specific social and environmental improvement and economic benefit;
b. Evidence of beneficial brownfields development attributes;
c. Evidence of engagement of the project with regulatory practice requirements  or a local jurisdictional regulator; and
d. Evidence of meaningful engagement with the community.

Award 6: Innovation or Research that Advances the Land & Groundwater industry

a. Demonstrated progress in uncovering new knowledge in soil or water contamination
b. Demonstrated applicability of research outcomes to improve industry practice
c. Demonstrated communication of new findings and their value to industry.

Award 7: Outstanding Contribution by an Individual

a. Demonstrated involvement in advancing the knowledge of peers in the industry
b. Demonstrated success in their role on a project involving remediation
c. Demonstrated success in advancing improvements to the regulations, practices and technologies, research, sampling, testing, assessment or remediation.

Award 8: Outstanding Leadership by a Woman

a. Demonstrated involvement in advancing the knowledge of peers in the industry
b. Demonstrated achievement in advancing industry regulations
c. Demonstrated success in their role on a project involving remediation

Award 9: Most Promising Professional of the Year

a. Applicant must have less than 2yrs experience in the industry
b. Demonstrated effort to increase personal knowledge in land & groundwater remediation
c. Demonstrated involvement in advancing the knowledge of peers in the industry
d. Demonstrated success in their role on a project involving remediation

Award 10: Lawyer of the Year

a. Demonstrated expertise in the statute and common law applying to contaminated land & groundwater
b. Demonstrated development of solutions to complex problems involving contaminated land & groundwater
c. Demonstrated actions to advance understanding of the law applying to contaminated land & groundwater and contributed to its development.

Award 11: Best Contaminated Land Photo

a. Outstanding representation of the benefits intended to be achieved by the industry
b. Outstanding representation of technologies and methods involved in site assessment or remediation
c. Outstanding photographic effects to convey the nature and purpose of the site contamination and remediation industry.



2017 Winners - The Annual Industry Excellence Awards bumped the Awards categories to 11, making this event one of the most prestigious in the Remediation industries' calendar.

Best Remedial Project  >$1M - ENVIROPACIFIC - PFAS Water Treatment Plant, Coolangatta Airport (Qld) 

Best Regional Remedial Project - VENTIA, JACOBS - Cox Peninsula (NT) Remediation Project

Best Operation of a Site Investigation - VENTIA, Senversa, RenewalSA - High Resolution Triad Investigation at former Brompton Gasworks (SA)

Sustainable Remediation Project Recognition - SYRINX ENVIRONMENTAL - Burnie (Tas) Waste Management Centre Landfill Leachate Treatment Project

Outstanding Innovation Advancing the Land & Groundwater Industry - EPA VICTORIA - Fishermans Bend (Vic) Groundwater Study

Outstanding Individual - Frances Lee 

Outstanding Leadership by a Woman - Jackie Wright

Most Promising Professional - Ben Hanley

Lawyer Of The Year - Claire Smith

2016 Winner -  (Clean up Project Excellence Award) - Ventia for “Macdonaldtown Gasworks Remediation" - click here

2016 Winner -  (Sustainable Remediation Project Recognition Award) - Ventia for "Macdonaldtown Gasworks Remediation" - click here

2015 Winner -  (Clean up Project Excellence Award) - Enviropacific for "FTA Remediation, Point Cook" - click here

2015 Winner -  (Sustainable Remediation Project Recognition Award) – Coffey for "Solar Thermal Aerobic Recirculation Remediation System" - click here

2014 Winner -  (Clean up Project Excellence Award) - Parson Brinckerhoff for "Sustainable Treatment Using C3TM Refridgerated Condensation - click here

2013 Winner -  (Clean up Project Excellence Award) - Thiess for "The Botany Car Park Waste Encapsulation (CPWE) Remediation Project - click here

Past winners confirm: “We’ve been able to use this award in our marketing, and the benefits extend beyond the recognition of our peers, it’s also a great way to confirm to each individual involved that their contribution is known and appreciated.”

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Bronze Sponsors